Taking pets to Tunisia

Essem

Staff member
For those relocating to Tunisia and wanting to take the family pets, here are a couple of companies who will arrange everything for you from crates & collection to customs.

www.animalairlines.co.uk - have over 40 years of dealing with transporting any type of animal from regional UK airports to any part of the world.

www.parair.co.uk - dogs & cats shipped to all parts of the world by land, sea and air

luther

pets

hi, i took my cats to tunisia and they flew out with ba. phone no: 01753685393. you have to contact a company called defra to get paperwork for your vet to sign as your animals are classed as import. just a little note cat food is very expensive there.

Carolina

Hi everyone,

I'm a Veterinary Nurse and hope i can help with the ever confusing pet passport situation (although it may have changed by the time i type this)
If going out of the country and not coming back, u have to see a vet that is registered to deal with exporting animals, your pet has a rabies jab, the passport is filled out and u r good to go.

However, if u r returning to the country, ur pet has a jab, then a blood test this is sent away to a lab then if the vacc has been successful a pet passport is issued.
if u are returning, ur pet still has to wait 6 months before entering the country again and has to see a vet 24hrs before to hav worming and flea treatment.

hope this helps

alex negra

There are so many dogs that need adopting in Tunisia,that if you haven't already got a pet to transport,it's nice to get one here,saves the transport expenses and gives the dogs here a chance.

Essem

Staff member
Hi Alex,

My dog, Souma (on gallery - still offering reward, living in hope!!), was stolen from Hergla almost one year ago on 9th June '07. She was such a big part of my life and I'd had her since she was 2/3 weeks (not the usual 7/8 weeks or so like in the UK).